Orange, nicknamed the City of Princes, with its resolutely Provencal charm, invites you to take a stroll through time. The Théâtre Antique and the Arc de Triomphe, both protected historic monuments and UNESCO World Heritage Sites, are in a remarkable state of preservation, making them one of Provence's must-see attractions.
Visitors are amazed by the city's rich history, dating back two thousand years, and its monuments. As a city of music, its street performances and international lyric festival, "Les Chorégies", appeal to music lovers.

Must-sees: The Théâtre Antique - Arc de Triomphe - Colline Saint-Eutrope - Musée d'Art et d'Histoire - Notre Dame de Nazareth Cathedral

Summer residence of the Avignon popes, Châteauneuf-du-Pape still preserves the remains of its château des papes. Situated along the Rhone River, its architectural heritage bears witness to its history as a fortified village and Roman holiday resort.
Châteauneuf-du-Pape, recognized as a Remarkable Taste Site in 2006 and France's 1st A.O.C. since 1936, is also a charming village of 2,100 inhabitants situated on a rocky hillside.

Must-sees: Château des Papes - Chocolaterie Castelain - Distillerie Blachère - Musée Brotte - Vinadéa

France's oldest Neolithic site, dating from the 6th millennium BC, was discovered in the commune of Courthézon. Around the ancient Roman Castrum, the village grew over time, protected by powerful 12th-century ramparts. Famous for its troubadours and its courts of love, Courthézon belonged to the Principality of Orange until its incorporation into the Kingdom of France on May 29, 1731, its destiny beating to the rhythm of the turbulent history of its Princes. The quarrying of Saint Georges stone, the extraction of salt for food preservation and the production of sorghum brooms made Courthézon famous. Today, Courthézon enjoys the reputation of its Côtes du Rhône vineyards and its Châteauneuf du Pape appellation.

Must-sees: The Chateau and Val Seille park - The salt pond - Le Cellier des Princes

Today, a village of 2,700 inhabitants, Caderousse "Cadarossa" takes its name from two ancient roots, Cad (the waterfall) and Arous (former name of the river Aygues), meaning the confluence of the Aygues with the Rhône. Caderousse came under the authority of the Holy Roman Emperor, then of the Comtat Venaissin, and was converted into a duchy by papal bull in 1665. It remained loyal to the papacy, and was a place of refuge for the Catholic Church of Orange during the Wars of Religion.
The village is nestled in a powerful 19th-century dike that protects it from the overflowing Rhone. The river, sometimes feared but also a friend and nurturer, has set the pace for Caderousse's life and economy. The "caderoussiens" have exploited the fertile alluvial soils and fish-filled waters, and prospered in the craft of broom-making using millet straw.

Must-sees: The dike - Saint Michel church - Via Rhona - Revestidou lake

According to tradition, the commune of Jonquières takes its name from the rushes that used to cover the area, which was largely made up of swamps or paluds that have now dried up. Settlements are thought to have developed in the south-east of the area, and archaeological digs have uncovered Gallo-Roman tombs and other Gallic material.

In the 12th c., Jonquières, Courthézon and Orange formed part of a principality that also included the hamlets of Causans and Malijay. The princes of Les Baux, Chalons d'Arvay and Nassau succeeded each other at the head of the principality until it became part of France in 1731. Jonquières followed in the footsteps of its prestigious princes. The town had its own town council and enjoyed certain privileges. It was caught up in the conflict of the Wars of Religion. The houses nestling around the church and its bell tower bear witness to the 17th century ramparts, behind which the population protected itself from wars and epidemics. Watered to the east by the Ouvèze river and the Carpentras canal, its fertile soils are ideal for growing vegetables, fruit and vines.

In 2018, work began on a greenway created on the route of the old Comtat Venaissin railroad. This Via Venaissia cycle route will eventually link the Via Rhôna (European route linking Lake Geneva to the Mediterranean Sea, EV17) to the Luberon greenway (route de la Méditerranéen Euro Véloroute no. 8).

Must-see: Via Venaissia - Arboretum

Musée du Vin - Maison Brotte

Musée du Vin - Maison Brotte

Avenue Pierre de Luxembourg
84230 Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Dogs accepted Air conditioning Parking English German Chinese Portuguese Russian
Popes' Castle

Popes' Castle

Popes' Castle
route d'Orange
84230 Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Dogs accepted
La Borne Territoriale

La Borne Territoriale

Place de la Renaissance
84230 Châteauneuf-du-Pape
Etang Salé de Courthézon

Etang Salé de Courthézon

Route de Châteauneuf du Pape
D92
84350 Courthézon
Dogs accepted Parking
Val Seille Park and Castle

Val Seille Park and Castle

1 Boulevard Jean Vilar
BP 14
84350 Courthézon
Wi-Fi Parking
Beauregard Departmental Arboretum

Beauregard Departmental Arboretum

RD 950 and RD 977 traffic circle
Beauregard district
84150 Jonquières
Dogs accepted Parking
Théâtre Antique d'Orange

Théâtre Antique d'Orange

Rue Madeleine Roch
84100 Orange
Dogs accepted English German Spanish Italian
Notre-Dame-de-Nazareth Cathedral

Notre-Dame-de-Nazareth Cathedral

Rue Notre Dame
84100 Orange
Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Avenue de l'Arc de Triomphe
84100 Orange
Dogs accepted English
Gabet chapel

Gabet chapel

La Plane district
84100 Orange
Colline Saint Eutrope

Colline Saint Eutrope

Colline Saint Eutrope
84100 Orange
Dogs accepted Parking
Museum of Art and History

Museum of Art and History

Rue Madeleine Roch
84100 Orange
English German

Nearby tourist attractions

40 résultats

Images of the Pays d'Orange en Provence

Go to main content

Edit Content
Click on the Edit Content button to edit/add the content.

Patrimoine

Pays d'Orange en Provence

Orange, surnommée la cité des Princes, au charme résolument provençal invite à une promenade à travers le temps. Le Théâtre Antique et l’Arc de Triomphe, protégés au titre des monuments historiques et inscrits sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO sont dans un état de conservation remarquable, ils appartiennent de ce fait aux incontournables de la Provence.
Sa riche histoire, deux fois millénaire, ses monuments, surprennent les visiteurs. Ville de musique, ses spectacles de rue et son festival lyrique international « les Chorégies » séduisent les mélomanes.

Les incontournables : Le Théâtre Antique - L'Arc de Triomphe - La Colline Saint-Eutrope - Le musée d'Art et d'Histoire - La cathédrale Notre Dame de Nazareth 

Résidence d’Eté des papes avignonnais, Châteauneuf-du-Pape conserve encore les vestiges de son château des papes. De par sa situation le long du fleuve Rhône, son patrimoine architectural témoigne de son histoire de village fortifié mais aussi lieu de villégiature romaine.
Châteauneuf-du-Pape, reconnu Site Remarquable du Goût en 2006 et 1ère A.O.C de France depuis 1936 est également un charmant village de 2 100 habitants situé à flanc de rocher.

Les incontournables : Château des Papes - Chocolaterie Castelain - Distillerie Blachère - Musée Brotte - Vinadéa

C’est sur la commune de Courthézon qu’a été découvert le site néolithique le plus ancien de France daté du VIe millénaire avant notre ère. Autour de l’ancien Castrum romain, le village se développe au fil du temps protégé par de puissants remparts au 12e siècle. Célèbre pour ses troubadours et ses cours d’amour, Courthézon appartient à la Principauté d’Orange jusqu’à son incorporation au royaume de France le 29 mai 1731.Son destin battra au rythme de l’histoire agitée de ses Princes. L’exploitation des carrières de pierre de saint Georges et l’extraction du sel pour la conservation des aliments, ainsi que la confection du balai à sorgho ont fait la renommée de Courthézon. Aujourd’hui, elle jouit de la réputation de son vignoble des côtes du Rhône et de son appellation de Châteauneuf du Pape.

Les incontournables : Le Chateau et le parc Val Seille - L'étang salé - Le Cellier des Princes

Aujourd’hui, village de 2700 habitants, Caderousse « Cadarossa » tire son nom de deux racines antiques, Cad (la chute) et Arous (ancien nom de l'’Aygues) qui signifie le confluent de l’Aygues dans le Rhône. Relevant de l’autorité de l’empereur du Saint Empire romain germanique puis du Comtat Venaissin, coseigneurie, duché par bulle pontificale en 1665, Caderousse restera fidèle à la papauté et sera un lieu d’asile pour l’église catholique orangeoise durant les guerres de religion.
Le village est lové dans sa puissante digue du 19e siècle. qui le protège des débordements du Rhône. Le fleuve, parfois redouté mais aussi ami et nourricier, a rythmé la vie et l’économie de Caderousse. Les « caderoussiens » ont su exploiter les terres fertiles des alluvions, les eaux poissonneuses, et prospérer dans l’artisanat de la confection de balais grâce à la paille de millet.

Les incontournables : La digue - Eglise Saint Michel - La Via Rhona - Plan d'eau du Revestidou

La commune de Jonquières tiendrait son nom, selon la tradition, des joncs qui couvraient le territoire lequel était en grande partie constitué de marécages ou paluds aujourd’hui asséchés. Des habitats se seraient développés au sud-est de son territoire, des fouilles archéologiques ayant mis à jour des tombes gallo-romaines et autres matériels gaulois.

Au 12°s, Jonquières faisait partie avec Courthézon et Orange d’une principauté qui inclura également les hameaux de Causans et de Malijay. Les princes des Baux, Chalons d’Arvay et Nassau se succéderont à la tête de la Principauté jusqu’à son rattachement à la France en 1731. Jonquières suivra la destinée de ses prestigieux princes. La ville avait son propre conseil municipal et bénéficiait de certains privilèges. Elle sera prise malgré elle dans le conflit des guerres de religion. Les maisons lovées autour de l’église et de son clocher, gardent le souvenir de ses anciens remparts du 17°S derrière lesquels la population se protégeait des guerres et des épidémies. Arrosée à l’est par la rivière Ouvèze et le canal de Carpentras, ses terres fertiles sont propices aux cultures maraîchères, fruitières et de vignes.

Depuis 2018 a débutée l'aménagement d'une voie verte, créé sur le tracé de l’ancienne voie ferrée du Comtat Venaissin, cette véloroute Via Venaissia permettra à terme de relier la Via Rhôna (voie européenne joingant le lac Léman à la mer Méditerranée, EV17) à la voie verte du Luberon (route de la Méditerranéen Euro Véloroute n°8).

Les incontournables : Via Venaissia - Arboretum